New Categories, Old Thinking

Posted · 1 Comment

The Swedish advertising award Guldägget just announced new digital categories. The categories are:

1. Interactive Category A:
Includes campaign sites and corporate sites.

2. Interactive Category B:

Includes banners, mobile marketing and SEO.

3. Interactive Category C:
Other digital media
Includes widgets, applications, digital events, interactive tools and social media.

This segmentation into technologies could have been a good idea for production companies, but for communications agencies? I don’t know.

In a media landscape where the consumer chooses it’s channels and switches between them seamlessly and very quickly, any communications strategy residing in ONE channel is questionable. And thus, deviding up awards in this way is too. Any communications strategy that does not take into account channel orchestration is simply incomplete.

I would love to see the awards segmentation matrix turned 90 degrees. Channel orchestration and choice needs to be present for any strategy to be considered complete, and segmentation could instead be by business type or target audience for example.

Then perhaps there could be another awards show for production companies and their technical achievements, just like Roy is for film production companies.

One Response to "New Categories, Old Thinking"
  1. Markus says:

    I agree wholeheartedly. Why even try to separate different communication ideas into different deliverables? This is a very good example of inside-out thinking from a bunch of old fashioned ad-guys/gals that only count the number of stationarys they produce (and charge their customers).

    Say, I help company X with a redesign of its web site. I add fashionable functions like the ability to digg/share/whatnot news posts. I add a section where end customers can discuss with each others, and also interact with company X. Of course, I make sure that the company’s website is SEO-optimized and get high ranked in whatever search engine that exist. As a complimentary thing, I finally code a little widget that shows company X’s location of items/latest prices/whatever helps the end customer to faster buy the company’s products & services.

    The above is pretty much what we help our customers with when dealing with interactive stuff. But still, what category to put the result in?

Leave a Reply

About the Blog

This blog is written by Walter Naeslund and has been around since 2007. The blog is about the journey of starting an advertising agency and a sneak peek behind the scenes of what goes on at the Honesty HQ in SoFo, Södermalm. It is also a blog about communication & technology. The blog has gathered almost a thousand posts over the years with several longer and shorter breaks. Welcome and enjoy.
Learn More